Good to Know

OSI Discovery Map Series: 62,68,69

Guided Tours: N

Please Note:

Please note that all poles that carry Nine Stones signage are numbered NS001 etc. so should you need to report any issue, please report the pole number to [email protected]

Nine Stones Cycling Trail

The Nine Stones Cycling Loop Trail is a County Wexford based Cycling Trail within the Wexford Trails family. The Trail traverses County Wexford for the most part, but also enters parts of County Carlow and County Wicklow. The cycle loop is a total of 118km of sign-posted cycle route across some of the most breathtaking scenery that you’ll find in Ireland.

This cycle loop was designed to challenge. Cyclists will encounter 1600 metres of climbing but will be rewarded with some fabulous scenery and stunning views – most notably Sliabh Bhuí and the Nine Stones (at the summit of Mount Leinster) where legends of Kings and Celtic Druids linger. There are several villages along the way where cyclists can take a well-earned break and replenish supplies for this energy sapping adventure.

This loop is on public roads and the rules of the road apply to all. Wexford County Council would advise cyclists to travel in an anti-clockwise direction. The Nine Stones Cycle Loop traverses some beautiful locations with stunning scenery and the following points of interest/towns and villages will be encountered along the route bringing you to the heart of rural Ireland: Bunclody, The Nine Stones, Kiltealy, Ferns, The Harrow, Ballycanew, Gorey, Clogh, Camolin, Sliabh Bhuí, Carnew and returns to Bunclody.


Route Map